Welcome!

My name is Alicia Lyford and I am a senior at the University of Oregon studying public relations. I was born and raised in Portland, Ore., and hope to return after I graduate and work for a global PR agency. The focus of my blog is corporate public relations and branding. I hope to learn and discover more about this industry and the public relations industry in general.

For the past two summers I have had the opportunity to intern for a mobile technology startup company called Perka. Perka is a cardless loyalty solution for neighborhood businesses that helps local merchants gain the competitive edge they need to compete with large retailers. During my internship I learned many aspects of public relations and marketing as well as the in’s and out’s of working for a tech startup.

While this experience opened my eyes to the world of tech PR, I found myself most interested in brand development aspects associated with a startup company. Now I would love to take my knowledge I have learned from working with a startup and broaden my perspective to follow corporate branding and public relations within larger, more developed brands and companies.

I am currently doing some work for Perka from Eugene. I am also excited to have the opportunity to be Allen Hall Public Relations Assistant Firm Director this year and hope to learn many things from this experience.

Within the next few weeks I hope to cover a wide variety of corporate PR and branding topics including::

– History of corporate PR and branding

–  Corporate PR and branding tips and trends

–  Corporate crisis communications

– The good and bad of corporate PR

– Featured companies and their PR campaigns

I look forward to the weeks to come!

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

